Thank You, Friend.

In the spirit of upcoming Thanksgiving weekend, I have been thinking about what I am truly grateful for, at this moment. I can up with all the ready made, generic answers, but I wanted to dig past the surface and really figure out the item that I am most grateful for this year.

You see, this week has been a whirlwind of events, after a couple of weeks of more whirlwinds. I have at times, felt like I was completely crumbling, falling, and losing myself entirely.  I logged on to Facebook today, to find more messages from concerned friends.  I had text messages to show the same, and phone calls. I went to update my status to say how grateful I was, and realized that this was my item this year:

My friends.

This started out as a status but it turned into this letter below. So, to my closest friends, (you know who you are), this is for you, specifically.

* * * * * * 

To my Lovely Friends, 


I want you to know on this Turkey Weekend how entirely, over abundantly blessed I feel to have friends like you. When I was a little girl, I imagined a day when I would have a group of close knit best friends, each of us different, but each of us connected. I would line my stuffed animals up, name them, and pretend we were the best of the best. I never had that connection in elementary, or junior high school. I had best friends in high school, one in particular who I adore and love to this day. But never that Sex in The City sort of friendship (don’t judge me, okay?!). At our last “girl’s night”, I realized- I had that. I had the friendship, the different women, the camaraderie. 


That connection I had wished for. 

It continues to take my breath away that I have such fabulous inspiring women within arm’s reach. Women who have crafted their own businesses, who have succeeded in their careers, who are amazing, incredible mothers. Women who intimidate me, yet see something just as incredible in me. Women who have amazing senses of humor, who respect our own separate opinions. Women who are honest, genuine, real. Who struggle with me as we figure out what life is supposed to be at 30, 40, and beyond. Women who leave their judgment at the door, who keep a secret and understand the sacredness of sharing. The same women who will at a moments notice, drop everything to bring comfort and support in the form of food, laughter and a hug.  None of this is ever done with a tally behind it; you all just do it. Because your hearts are that open, that pure and that fabulous. 


I am blessed. To each of you together, and individually, I love you all. While my life has been rather chaotic the last few weeks, I am grateful that all of you have come to me in different ways to offer love, support. A shoulder to cry on, a sounding board to bounce feelings and ideas off of. A joke that brought me a smile, a text message to make sure I knew you were there, just in case. You love my children, my family, and most of all, you love me. No bars, no conditions. You love me for me- another form of unconditional love. Something every person should experience. 


For all of it, I thank you. 


While you enjoy your respective dinners, alone or with family, know from the bottom of my heart, I am grateful that each of you have walked into my life, and taken a piece of it. You are incredible women, and I truly am lucky to call you my friends. 


Happy Thanksgiving to you all!


Love, 


Mama D


P.S. Can we plan a post-thanksgiving retreat? I will bring the wine! 



“This life is what you make it. No matter what, you’re going to mess up sometimes, it’s a universal truth. But the good part is you get to decide how you’re going to mess it up. Girls will be your friends – they’ll act like it anyway. But just remember, some come, some go. The ones that stay with you through everything – they’re your true best friends. Don’t let go of them. “ 
– Marilyn Monroe
Leave a Reply

