Mmm, food!

As I venture out on this new journey of a new diet, I’ve learned rather quickly that in the case of a specialized diet, more often then not, homemade is always better.

Finding recipes that are low in sugar, have no dairy, and still come out looking appealing? It’s tough. But it can be done. This week I’ve managed to stay relatively dairy free, with a few exceptions of hidden dairy being in something, and me only realizing when I read the label while Girlie cries. Truth is, she is doing marvelous. At 11pm last night, instead of me rocking back and forth, pacing the house, nursing, and trying all methods to get her to stop, she was smiling, kicking and cooing. All the dairy in the world is worth that, in my opinion anyhow.

As I tucked Potato into bed, I told him we could bake tomorrow if he wished. His eyes lit up and he excitedly said, “YES! MUFFINS!” So that’s what we did. I had a muffin recipe I was dying to try out, and he was wanting to spend some time in the kitchen getting his hands dirty.

So here’s my new favorite fall muffin, and I’m not really a muffin fan.

Cinnamon Applesauce Muffins
Ingredients: 
1/4 cup oil
1/2 cup molasses (for increased sweetness use half molasses and half honey)
1 cup applesauce
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon 
1/8 tsp. cloves 
1/2 cup raisins (optional)

Preheat oven to 375. Grease a 12 cup muffin tin. Mix the oil molasses, and applesauce. Mix together the dry ingredients. Combine wet and dry ingredients. Stir in the raisins. Drop into muffin cups and bake 18-20 min. Makes about 12 muffins.

I really didn’t make any changes to the recipe, but here are a couple of things I did alter:

  • I accidently put in all of the molasses when I had the intent to half it. So I added in about 1/4 cup of honey to give them some sweetness. I didn’t measure, I really just eyeballed it. 
  • I used canola oil as the oil, but I’m sure any oil would make do. 
  • I added more cinnamon, because, I love cinnamon. I thought it needed more. 
  • I used ground cloves instead of whole. I’m weird about things getting into the texture of things.

Either way, these muffins are so good! And super kid friendly to make as well. Since you don’t even need to bring the mixer out, all you do is stir with your hands. Potato had a blast stirring the dry ingredients, and then the wet, and even more fun was had when we combined the two.

They are pretty kid friendly to eat too- Potato has happily devoured two in the last 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

