Back to Self.

When Girlie was born, the first thing that shocked me the most about our new addition was how little time I actually ended up having. It felt quite literally that my days went from being a normal 24 hours to being 12 hours, sometimes less. I’ve spent the last couple months attempting to get into some sort of routine for all of us but it’s been a challenge.

Taking all of that into consideration, the idea of taking some time to myself is sometimes…well, most times, laughable. It’s not that I don’t think I deserve it. In fact, it’s completely the opposite. I know I need it, I just run out of hours and minutes in the day to actual take some time to nurture myself.

As I was quickly browsing my Facebook feed today, I found this little goody posted by a blogger over at Mothering.  The 30 Day Back to Self Challenge? Could I possibly find one little thing to do on a daily basis that will be more nurturing and healthy for me?

The answer is yes, of course.

I’m not going to dedicate the 30 days to one thing specifically, but each day I am going to make sure I take 15 minutes to myself to reground myself, to nurture my soul. Whether that be a nice quick walk with the dog, a glass of wine while I watch a favorite show, or just 15 minutes of reading a book, just something to make sure I feel better, and like I’ve had some “me time”.

Tonight’s goal is to get into bed and be asleep before the clock strikes midnight. It’s not that I turn into a pumpkin…it’s just that my body hasn’t seen sleep before midnight in over 6 months or longer.

With fall’s busy schedules, and the holidays fast approaching, I think this is a must do for everyone!

Leave a Reply

