Black Bottom Cupcakes

Whenever we do BBQ’s or dinners at my BFF’s house, I generally WANT to make something, but for whatever reason, I don’t end up finding the time, or energy to do it. So on our way over, I generally run into the grocery store, and pick up a dessert. Simple, easy, and well, way expensive. Then I joke that I slaved over it all afternoon; I’m funny like that 😉

This week, I did a search for muffins, and oddly enough, this recipe (click!) came up. Weird, but it looked completely and entirely too appealing. So I decided that this would be the dessert of choice for the upcoming BBQ.

The cupcakes were most definitely a hit. The recipe was way too easy to make, and Potato had a fabulous time helping me put it together. So without further adieu, here’s the recipe. Of course, my comments will be below the recipe 😀

Black Bottom Cupcakes

Ingredients

  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup miniature semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon cider vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Line muffin tins with paper cups or lightly spray with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. In a medium bowl, beat the cream cheese, egg, 1/3 cup sugar and 1/8 teaspoon salt until light and fluffy. Stir in the chocolate chips and set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, mix together the flour, 1 cup sugar, cocoa, baking soda and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Make a well in the center and add the water, oil, vinegar and vanilla. Stir together until well blended. Fill muffin tins 1/3 full with the batter and top with a dollop of the cream cheese mixture.
  4. Bake in preheated oven for 25 to 30 minutes.
Things of note:

  • I baked the cupcakes for only 20-23 minutes. They were starting to smell like they were burning. I also flipped their location in the oven twice during the baking time as well.
  • Instead of cider vinegar, I used regular vinegar. Mainly out of necessity. I don’t think it made a huge difference as the amount used is very small.
  • I also didn’t have mini chocolate chips, so I used regular chocolate chips. I used half a cup instead of a full cup. I thought it worked out well.
  • The batter for the bottoms was SUPER doughy, and I ended up adding more water to the mix. I think probably about half a cup more- I just eyeballed it until the consistency looked a little more like cupcake batter.

If you plan to take them to a gathering, don’t expect to come home with any of them. They definitely were a hit at the BBQ last night!

Leave a Reply

